Zone 7

Welcome to the NYSSMA Zone 7 Website!

2022 General Meeting Presentation (Zone Meeting at Area All State, 11/19/22)

Zone 7 Communication: Click HERE to add your contact info so you can receive emails. 

See below for 2023 Festival Dates.

In order to participate in Zone 7 festivals, teachers/Directors must complete this Google Form “Letter of intent” to indicate which festival you wish to attend. Responses due Dec 2! 

Festivals in Zone 7 are exclusively for students with schools within Zone 7. Reach out to me if you have questions. 

Scroll down for more info on festivals, fees and county president info from Zone 7.

Zone Representative
Gregory A. Verheyn
6 Kettles Way
Queensbury, NY 12804
(c) 914-255-1603
email: zone7@nyssma.org

Follow Zone 7 on Twitter: @NYSSMAZone7

 

Area All-State

Area All-State at Saratoga Springs HS on November 18-19, 2022 


2023 Solo Fest Dates, locations and hosts.
  

Registration will continue through www.gdoig.com 

Maple Ave (Saratoga) In-House 
March 3-4, 2023
Host: Jenn Minehan
j_minehan@saratogaschools.org
Registration deadline: 1/20/23
 
SUNY Schenectady School of Music Piano Festival:
March 10-11, 2023
Host: Mark Evans
evansme@sunysccc.org
Registration deadline: 1/27/23
 
Albany in-house, Solo/Ensemble
April 1, 2023 (Saturday only)
Host: Kate Wright
kwright1@albany.k12.ny.us
Registration Deadline: tbd
 
Bethlehem, Solo/Ensemble/All-State
April 21-22, 2023
Host: Julie Taylor
jtaylor@bethlehemschools.org
Registration Deadline, 3/3/23
(This is an adjudicator Orientation site – here’s the application for the orientation)
 
Queensbury HS, Solo/Ensemble/All-State
May 5-6, 2023
Host: Alyssa Verheyn
averheyn@queensburyschool.org
Registration Deadline, 3/17/23
 
Guilderland (Farnsworth Middle School), Solo/Ensemble/All-State/IJ/VJ
May 19-20, 2023
Hosts, Bob Winans/John Fatuzzo
nyssma23@guilderlandschools.net
Registration Deadline, 3/31/23
(this is the ONLY JAZZ site in Zone 7)
 
 

2023 Major Organization dates, locations and hosts.

Register at www.nyssma.org

Columbia HS, Instrumental Majors
April 25-26 2023 
Host: John Kusche
 
Shaker HS, Instrumental Majors
April 3-4, 2023
Host: Deborah Keough
 
Queensbury HS, Choral Majors (northern festival)
April 4-5, 2023
Host: Matthew Gaulin
 
 Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk, Choral Majors (southern festival)
April 25-26, 2023
Host: Michelle McLoughlin
 

Solo/ensemble Fee Schedule

Solo & Ensemble – Levels 1-4 $16 
Solo & Ensemble – Levels 5-6 $24 
All State $30
Piano – levels 1-4 $22
Piano – Levels 5-6 $30

Major Organization Fee Schedule 

Majors—Level 1-3 (30 min.) $150
Majors—Level 4 (35 min.) $180
Majors—Level 5-6 (45 min.) $225

 

Presidents of Affiliated Counties

Albany (Capital Suburban Council MEA)
Nancy Lussier
Scotia-Glenville M.S.
10 Prestige Pkwy.
Scotia, NY 12302
nlussier@sgcsd.net
(518) 382-1208

Saratoga-Warren
Matthew Gaulin
Queensbury High School
409 Aviation Rd. 
Queensbury, NY 12804
mgaulin@queensburyschool.org
518-824-4600 X4221

Schenectady
Jason Varga
Draper Middle School
2070 Curry Rd. 
Schenectady, NY 12303
jvarga@mohonasen.org
(518) 356-8350
 
Washington – WCAMTA
Catherine Pandori
Greenwich Junior-Senior High School
10 Gray Ave
Greenwich, NY 12834
cpandori@greenwichcsd.org
(518) 692-9642 ext 6300

Rensselaer
Christopher Siegenthaler
Tamarac Elementary School
3992 NY Route 2
Troy, NY 12180
(518)279-4600 x1042

Fulton
Mike Graves 
Broadalbin-Perth High School
100 Bridge St. 
Broadalbin, NY 12025
gravesm@bpcsd.org
518-954-2600

Montgomery
Lisa Vosburgh
Fonda-Fultonville Central School
112 Old Johnstown Rd
Fonda, NY 12068
518-853-4415, ext. 5030
lvosburgh@ffcsd.org