NYSSMA® Officers

These are your association officers, news editors and advisory council members.

Feel free to contact any of us with questions or comments. 


Dr. David Brown

2886 County Line Road
Skaneateles, NY 13152-9462
Work Phone – 315-852-3400 xt. 7410
Cell Phone – 315-480-3536







Russ FaunceRFaunce
President Elect

137 Stafford Drive, Black River, NY 13612
(315) 486-3362








Michael Salzman
Past President 

52 Briarwood Lane
Plainview, NY 11803
Work Phone: (516) 364-5724
Home Phone: (516) 942-0889





Edmund Chiarello

Second Vice President

1430 Briard Street, Wantagh, NY  11793
Office (516) 531-3604








Robin DeSantisrobin%20desantis
Third Vice President

P.O. Box 78
32 Albany Street
Port Crane, New York 13833

Home 607-648-7120
Fax 607-648-3878




Dr. David A. Gaines
Executive Director


718 The Plain Road
Westbury, NY 11590-5931
Work Phone: 516-997-7200 X10
fax: 516-997-1700




News Editors

Thomas N. Gellert

Thomas N. Gellert
School Music News Editor 

167 Middleville Road
Northport, NY 11768-2365
Work Phone: 631-754-5379
fax: 631-261-1537
Retired Director of Music and Art – Harborfields CSD




Terry Nigrelli


Terry Nigrelli
Web Editor 

Retired Director of Cultural Arts – Bay Shore Schools





Advisory Council

Dr. Steven E. Schopp

Dr. Steven Schopp

Executive Director Emeritus

17 Cottonwood Ln.
Westbury, NY 11590
Home Phone: 516-334-2632




Adele Bovard
Deputy Superintendent Syosset Central Schools









Michael W. BrownellMichael W. Brownell
Past President

6 Kirby Dr.
Freeville NY 13068
Home Phone: 607-844-3889
Work Phone: 607-592-4364
fax: 607-836-3635




Jeanne D. Gray


Jeanne D. Gray
Past President 

310 East Street
Pittsford, NY 14534
Home Phone: 585-381-8209
fax: 585-586-8645



Dr. Bert Nelson

Dr. Bert Nelson
Advisory Council 

180 East Rockaway Road
Hewlett, NY 11557
Home Phone: 516-374-4480
fax: (516) 374-1230