BEDR Committee


NYSSMA Will Support: A sustained and robust process that reflects, analyzes, and enhances the various systems of the organization through a representative lens for the benefit of the populations we serve.

Goals will include:

  • Creating a community of BELONGING which empowers all members and    students to feel respected, valued, and equally included as they engage with the ongoing work of NYSSMA.

  • EQUITY in all aspects of the organization through reflection on shortcomings, reevaluation of traditions, and growth in accountability, transparency, and access.

  • DIVERSIFIED curricular and pedagogical practice that is responsive to the teacher and student population in all areas of the state.

  • Improved REPRESENTATION in all areas inclusive of new ideas for classroom experiences, NYSSMA leadership, festivals, and publications.

Explanation of Goals: Winter Conference NYSSMA PRESENTATION 2022


NYSSMA Manual Adendum (works by Women Composers & Composers of Color)

Institute for Composer Diversity (Resources & Analysis)

NYSSMA BEDR Teacher Survey Results


Our members include chairpersons of NYSSMA committees, collegiate, members at large, and NYSSMA officers:

Adele Bovard, Chair (click link for email)
Shelly Bauer – Zone 12 rep to Board
Jasmine Britt –
Urban Schools
Rob Deemer –
Doug Ernst –
Rural Schools
Brian Franco
Emerging Ensembles

Kerry Mero – Classroom
George Smith –
Adjudication Festival Committee
Dr. Elise Sobol
Special Learners

Austin Stroup – Collegiate PE
Fred Weingarten

Members at large
Dr. Meagan Dissinger
Shavon Lloyd
Elaine Philhower
Mike Rodgers
Dr. Matt Rotjan
Dali Soto-Peruzzi
Holden Turner
Avid Williams

NYSSMA Executive Council
Russ Faunce – NYSSMA President
Dr. David Brown – NYSSMA Past President
Ed Chiarello – NYSSMA President Elect

Related Documents